Daughters of Earth

23 Sep
Property of DarkRose Productions
Copyright 2013
By Julia DarkRose Ray
Image
Daughters of Earth

Now the deadly frost has touched the ground,
And turned its fertile flesh to bone,
I, now, bring you to life again:
I break the soil and spade it fine,
I gather it, pot it, take it in
To soften by my fire’s flame;
Anointing it with fresh water then,
Breathe its breath, and name its name:

Daughters of Earth
Arise and live:
I break the frost
And open thy grave.

Thunder my anger,
Lightning my might:
I take you in
Over wind and night,
To serve me, you true Mother,
To save me as well,
To harm nothing under my knowing sight.

Sun, rain,
Cloud, and snow,
I rise up
And over you go-
To bend my way,
To serve me night and day.

Time is truth
Time is sand
Time run true
For you, my earthly daughters,
From my own hand:
For dark-love
For dark-joy
For dark-pain
For darkness’ own sweet death…

We, my daughters and I,
Are the spire of gold,
The willow green,
The silver snake,
The scarlet queen,
The seven stars,
The solid chain.

We are now,
Breath and Substance
Risen twice,
Death and issue,
Double face,
Phoenix fire,
Burning feather,
Fly and flower
All together…

My dearest Daughters of Darkness,
We are the thicket secret,
Airy and light,
Horns of velvet,
Feathers many,
green as water,
red as flame-
We shed thy blood
And sign our names.

Leave a Reply

